The Guilty Pleasure of Cheap Gear


Maybe someone should use that as a band name.

So I was planning on laying down some tracks yesterday, but when I actually started recording, I felt like adding some acoustic guitar to a song. It immediately hit me that I don’t actually own an acoustic, except for a nylon-stringed, of course. I’m Brazilian, guys, in every Brazilian household you can find three things: a tv set, a soccer ball, a nylon-stringed guitar.

Anyway, long story short, I went out and got myself a cheapo Chinese-made guitar, and it got me thinking how much easier life is for kids these days. Except for Chinese kids, I hear someone say. Yes, I know it’s a moral dilemma, it’s probably as bad as buying Nike shoes. Or eating meat.

Yet, where would I be without all the cheap gear? I have Chinese microfones, Korean guitars, Japanese soundcards. Yes, I also own American-made stuff, but that’s far and few inbetween. And I’m not alone in this, as there are plenty of other musicians all over the World who would have a much harder time making music if not for the fact that somewhere in China there’s a kid in a sweat shop cranking out cheap guitar after cheap guitar. Or cheap microfone after cheap microfone. Or — you get the idea.

To sum it all up, I’d never have released a single record if not for borderline slave labor. I feel guilty, of course, and yet I went out yesterday, and got myself yet another piece of cheap gear made in China. What does that make me?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by dealsician on August 26, 2008 at 9:14 am

    guilty as charged 😛

    dealsician.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

